Mother Goose is my Muse

goose-front

In the crook of a road in Wabaco, Kentucky sits the Mother Goose House.   George Stacy built her over 60 years ago. This folk art house has been in my life well…. like forever. She is my muse. The house is pretty famous now. The goose has even been featured on the Oprah Winfrey Show. Throughout the years, many artists have painted and sketched her. She has been represented on pillows and t-shirts as well.   I think I may be the first person to capture her likeness in clay.

A few years ago while I was studying ceramic design in art school, she inspired a series of ceramic casserole vessels that I made. My professor said: “Don’t go in that direction” and so I Did go in that direction. I sold these vessels all over Hazard, especially at the Black Gold Festival.   I have slowed down making them but still managed to create a few handmade gooses every year for special orders.   I recently added this sweet little goose ornament to the collection.

The Mother Goose collection is handmade and made to order. I can’t guarantee that you will have them in time for the holidays, especially the casseroles but I will try my darndest!

Contact me

cleo and mother goose

Photo op with Cleo and the goose

goose xmas

Sweet little goose adorning the Christmas tree. Ornament $10.00 + shipping

Mother goose casserole server on the shelf

Mother goose casserole server on the shelf. $60.00 + shipping

1 thought on “Mother Goose is my Muse

Leave a comment